Stay informed Subscribe here

Draft of the program, convention in Stockholm, Sweden, 15 – 16 November 2019

Convention of the Progressive Alliance : A Progressive Agenda for the Future of Work, Sustainability and Solidarity


Friday, 15 November 2019

Venue:             Folkets Hus, Barnhusgatan 12-14, Stockholm


08:00 hrs         Registration


09:00 hrs         Meeting of the Steering Committee

All parties and associated organisations of the Progressive Alliance are entitled to send delegates to the Steering Committee.

In this meeting the Steering Committee elects the 40 member parties of the Board.

The Steering Committee prepares the convention, discusses resolutions and the upcoming activities of the Progressive Alliance.

Chaired by Konstantin Woinoff, Coordinator, Progressive Alliance

  • Presentation and Discussion of the Political Working Agenda

Rapporteur: Conny Reuter, Secretary General, SOLIDAR

  • Presentation, Discussion of and Vote on Amendments of the Guiding Principles

Rapporteur: Konstantin Woinoff

  • Election of two delegates for the Credentials and Tellers Committee
  • Election of the Board
  • Presentation, discussion of and vote on the resolutions
  • Resolution on Thailand

Rapporteur: Machris Cabreros, Coordinator, Network for Social Democracy in Asia (SocDem Asia)

  • Resolution on Brazil

Rapporteur: Humberto Costa, Senator, Workers’ Party (PT), Brazil

  • Resolution on Cameroon

Rapporteur: Josh Osih, Coordinator, Central African Progressive Alliance (CAPA)

  • Resolution on Middle East

Rapporteurs: Mustafa Barghouti, Secretary General, Palestinian National Initiative, Palestine, Eran Hermoni, Secretry General, Labour Party, Israel, Tamar Zandberg, Member of the Knesset, Meretz Party, Israel, Faraj Zayoud, Fatah, Palestine

  • Resolution on Feminism Against the Right

Rapporteurs: Marja Bijl and Bahia Amra, Co-Chairs of the Gender Equality Working Group of the Progressive Alliance

  • Resolution on Climate Change

Rapporteur: Jean-Marc Germain, International Secretary, Socialist Party, France

  • Presentation of the results of the Working Group on “Digital Capitalism”Rapporteurs: Thorben Albrecht, Federal Manager, Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD)
  • Discussion on membership applications

Rapporteur: Konstantin Woinoff



11:00 hrs         Coffee Break


12:00 hrs         Lunch


11:30 hrs         Board and Leaders Meeting

The new elected Board convenes in this first meeting to discusses and sets the political guidelines, takes decisions, inter alia, on membership and further organisation policy issues as well as to elect the Coordinator and appoint the Auditor.

Leaders of parties that have no representative on the Board are invited to participate in the meeting without voting rights.

Chaired by Stefan Löfven, Chairman of the Social Democratic Party of Sweden (SAP) and Prime Minister of Sweden

  • Vote on membership applications
  • Election of the Auditor and Coordinator
  • Vote on the Political Working Agenda
  • Progressive Politics for the 21st Century: Strategies and International Alliances with Trade Unions and Civil Society
  • A Global Deal for Climate, Jobs and Solidarity
  • Fighting Authoritarian and Right-wing Populist Movements
  • Challenges for Peace and Global Cooperation


13:00 hrs         Lunch for Board members only


13:45 hrs         Family photo in the plenary hall


14:00 hrs         Plenary session


14:00 hrs         Opening and welcome

Stefan Löfven, Chairman of the Social Democratic Party of Sweden (SAP) and Prime Minister of Sweden


14:15 hrs         Keynote speech on A new progressive era

António Costa, Secretary General of the Socialist Party (PS) and Prime Minister of Portugal


14:30 hrs         A new progressive era

António Costa, Secretary General of the Socialist Party (PS) and Prime Minister of Portugal

Risa Hontiveros, Senator and Chair of the Citizens’ Action Party (Akbayan)

Stefan Löfven, Chairman of the Social Democratic Party of Sweden (SAP) and Prime Minister of Sweden

Carlos Lopes, Professor the Mandela School, University of Cape Town

Pamela Rendi-Wagner, Chair of the Social Democratic Party of Austria (SPÖ)

Olaf Scholz, Vice Chair of the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD) and Vice Chancellor of Germany

Manish Tewari, Member of Parliament and National Spokesperson of the Indian National Congress (INC)


15:30 hrs         Climate change and a sustainable society

Magdalena Andersson, Minister of Finance, Sweden

Sharan Burrow, Secretary General of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)

Alvaro Elizalde, Senator and President of the Socialist Party of Chile (PSCh)

Iratxe Garcia, President of the Group of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament (S&D)

Tamar Khulordava, Member of Parliament, Georgian Dream Party

Ana Pirtskhalava, Secretary General of the International Union of Socialist Youth (IUSY)

Frans Timmermans, First Vice President of the European Commission


16:30 hrs         Coffee Break


17:00 hrs         Global deal for jobs in a digital era

Lim Guan Eng, Secretary-General of the Democratic Action Party (DAP) and Minister of Finance of Malaysia

Javier López, Member of the European Parliament, Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party (PSOE), Spain

Ruth Manorama, Janata Dal (Secular), India, President of the National Dalit Women Federation, Laureate of the Right Livelihood Award

Antti Rinne, Leader of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Prime Minister of Finland

Maria João Rodrigues, President of the Foundation for European Progressive Studies (FEPS)

Wayne Swan, President of the Australian Labor Party (ALP)

Karl-Petter Thorwaldsson, President of the Swedish Trade Union Confederation (LO)


18:00 hrs         Peace and security

Ann Linde, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sweden

Vijay Makhan, Responsible for International Relations, Mauritius Militant Movement (MMM)

Naledi Pandor, Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, South Africa (tbc)

Mohammad Shtayyeh, Prime Minister of Palestine

Jonas Gahr Støre, President of the Labour Party Norway

Emily Thornberry, Member of Parliament, UK Labour Party (tbc)

Tamar Zandberg, Member of the Knesset, Meretz Party Israel

Zoran Zaev, Prime Minister of North Macedonia


19:00 hrs         Progressive Alliance Award 2019 to Selahattin Demirtaş

Laudatory speeches by

Peter Hultqvist, Minister of Defence, Sweden

Sergei Stanishev, President of the Party of European Socialists (PES)

Speech :

Başak Demirtaş


19:30 hrs         End


19:45 hrs         Dinner hosted by the Social Democratic Party of Sweden (SAP) and the Swedish Trade Union Confederation (LO)


Saturday, 16 November 2019

Please find the program for Saturday in a separate document.

Draft Program
Program Palme Days Sat 16 Nov 2019